• 1.
    Tetrahedon (Intro)
  • 2.
  • 3.
    Befehl von Ganz Unten
  • 4.
    Leider Geil
  • 5.
    Der Mond
  • 6.
    Illegale Fans
  • 7.
  • 8.
  • 9.
  • 10.
    Pferd Aus Glas
  • 11.
    Der Strahl
  • 12.
    Die Rote Kiste


Having almost called it a day following the death of regular producer Sebi Hackert three years ago, Hamburg tech-rap quartet Deichkind return with their fifth studio album, Befehl Von Ganz Unten, just as mischievous and anarchic as they have ever been. With the West Coast hip-hop vibes of their early career all but a distant memory, the follow-up to 2008's Arbeit Nervt continues to tiptoe toward the same party-starting electro territory as LMFAO, particularly on the Auto-Tuned squelchy techno of "Der Strahl" and the bouncy, robotic synth pop of "Der Mond." But while Ferris MC, Philipp, DJ Phono, and Porky may present the same hedonistic front as their bushy-haired L.A. counterparts, they're undoubtedly a lot more intelligent and subversive. None more so than on lead single "Illegale Fans," a Gary Numan-goes-dubstep dissection of music piracy which is likely to leave Lars Ulrich open-mouthed, while elsewhere they attack ruthless careerists on the glossy, '80s-tinged "Buck Dich Hoch" and the consumerist lifestyle on the flower-power rap of "Leider Geil" in their own distinctive manner. Unsurprisingly, its relentlessly decadent sound soon becomes tiresome, although a couple of authentic acid-house pastiches ("Partnerlook," "Pferd aus Glas") and a riotous collaboration with influential Deustchpunk band Slime on the aggressive scuzz-rock of closer "Die Rote Kiste," help provide some respite. But while it's definitely an acquired taste, it's a party record which admirably refuses to pander to the lowest common denominator. ~ Jon O'Brien, Rovi

SoundHound on your mobile phone
midomi.com:  English |  Español |  Français |  Italiano |  Deutsch |  Português |  Polski |  简体中文 |  한국어 |  midomi.co.jp:  日本語