• 7.
    That's No Joke
  • 8.
  • 9.
    Stop Doin' for Her
  • 10.
    I Did Everything Right With the ...
  • 11.
    I'm Tired of That [*]
  • 12.
    Cherokee [*]


Although Dakota Staton recorded extensively from 1954-1961 for Capitol and 1963-1964 for United Artists, her earlier recordings are almost all out of print and difficult to find. This 1991 CD finds the singer still in prime form, assisted on most tracks by tenor saxophonist Houston Person, pianist Bross Townsend, bassist Fred Hunter, and drummer Paula Hampton. Staton performs a wide variety of music ranging from swing standards ("Mean to Me" and "Body and Soul") and blues to more current material ("The Thrill Is Gone" and "This Bitter Earth"). No matter what the source, Staton gives each of the tunes soul, swing, the proper amount of emotion, and a bluesy feeling. Recommended. ~ Scott Yanow, Rovi

SoundHound on your mobile phone
midomi.com:  English |  Español |  Français |  Italiano |  Deutsch |  Português |  Polski |  简体中文 |  한국어 |  midomi.co.jp:  日本語