• 1.
    I Believe in What You Do
  • 2.
  • 3.
    Wandering Eye
  • 4.
  • 5.
  • 6.
    Ocean in the Sky
  • 7.
    Italian Song
  • 8.
  • 9.
  • 10.
    It's in the Sound
  • 11.
    Sunday Driving
  • 12.
    (Lost Souls) Low Tones


Zooming in from Athens, GA, by way of Birmingham, AL, the predominantly female Little Red Rocket was summarily dropped by Geffen in the Universal Music shakeup before they had recorded even a note of their sophomore release. But it's just as well since their wiry pop sound, freed from the constraints of major label boundaries, is given room to breath and expand on this disc. Songwriter/guitarist/singers Orenda Rocket and Maria Rocket (Jackie and Scott Rocket are the rhythm section, finalizing the Ramones/Ween identical last name for non-related members connection) come off like Belly who have carefully listened to their Beatles and Blake Babies records. Sweet, layered harmonies float atop alternately shimmering and jangly guitars, kick-starting intricately written and arranged songs. Some of the ballads drift aimlessly, and a few more Rocket rockers would be welcome, but there's enough smart, snappy songwriting with sharp edges and lyrical twists to keep the Rocketeer's music entertaining, if not consistently challenging. Unexpected change-ups like the mournful cello on "Love," the backwards guitar and sitar on the Revolver-esque "Ocean in the Sky," the trumpet in the waltz time "Spell," and the female Beach Boys/Mamas and Papas vocals prove that the girls respect their roots and use them in unique ways. Mature, clever, and sophisticated, they won't blast you into outer space, but Little Red Rocket will take you on a pop trip that's well worth your time. ~ Hal Horowitz, Rovi

SoundHound on your mobile phone
midomi.com:  English |  Español |  Français |  Italiano |  Deutsch |  Português |  Polski |  简体中文 |  한국어 |  midomi.co.jp:  日本語