Following in the wake of the multi-platinum girl group Pussycat Dolls came Girlicious, a pop quartet whose music was also rooted in sexually charged slick R&B/pop. The group consists of Nichole Cordova, Tiffanie Anderson, Chrystina Sayers, and Natalie Mejia, and was formed in 2008 by Robin Antin, creator and founder of the Pussycat Dolls. In order to capitalize on the success that her first pop group had achieved across the globe, Antin produced a reality television program to search for the next pop sensation. After thousands auditioned with hopes and dreams of being part of the next "it" group, Antin selected 15 participants who would compete in a program called Pussycat Dolls Present: Girlicious. The contestants performed rigorous dance routines and delivered group and solo vocal performances as the judges on the show eliminated the competitors, until there were only four left.

In the finale, Antin had planned to eliminate one more contestant to achieve her desired group; however, at the last minute she decided that Girlicious should operate as a foursome rather than a trio -- thus, Cordova, Anderson, Sayers and Mejia all made the cut. Immediately after the public discovered who was going to be in the group, the quartet dropped a digital EP, entitled Like Me/Stupid S**t. The EP was a huge success in digital media outlets such as iTunes, and "Like Me" became particularly successful in Canada, hitting number one in video rotations and number four on the Canadian Hot 100. The song also charted on the Billboard Pop 100, mostly because of digital downloads. Their self-titled debut album was slated for release in September 2008, and they agreed to tour with the Backstreet Boys for their Unbreakable Tour that same summer, promoting the album. ~ Matthew Chisling, Rovi

SoundHound on your mobile phone  English |  Español |  Français |  Italiano |  Deutsch |  Português |  Polski |  简体中文 |  한국어 |  日本語